a french garden

Of bees and blogs

33 Comments

Bee in Cellandine 17.2.13

It usually starts in February.

Early bumble bee February 2013The bees start sneaking into my posts.

Bee 1.4.13

By April things are hotting up.

Bee on Forget-me-not.18.4.13

They appear on Forget-me-nots.

Andrena fulva.25.4.13

I show the solitary bees pollinating our blackcurrants.

Carpenter April2013

The bees are getting bigger.

Bee on Dame de onze heure.19.4.13

The more flowers that appear the more bees that arrive.

Bee in Holly hock.13.7.13

Summer brings even more bees.

Bee-Geranium 5.7.14

The geraniums in my blog are accompanied by bumble bees.

Bee in Chicory.11.8.13

The Chicory flower is accompanied by a colourful solitary bee.

August poppy

In August the bees are in the Hollyhocks.

Bee in Dahlia.11.8.13

In the dahlias…

Bee in Dahlia-28.8.13

For a gardening blog I fear there maybe a bit too many bees.

Bumble in Sedum

I can’t help it they are too appealing (c’est plus fort que moi!)

I do, however, want to learn and understand more about solitary bees and so I have decided to separate (to some extent) my passion for the bees from the garden.  I have started a new blog Bees in a French Garden .  This is a more serious blog to find out if there is anyone else out there interested in solitary bees.  It would be nice to find people to exchange ideas with as has happened with my garden blog.  I have learnt so much following some great gardening blogs so I am hoping my bee blog will be rewarding too.

My French Garden Blog will continue as the garden changes through the seasons incorporating the advice and help from friends and bloggers.

Author: afrenchgarden

Born in Scotland I have lived in England, Iran, USA and Greece. The house and land was bought twelve years ago in fulfilment of the dream of living in France that my Francophile husband nurtured. We had spent frequent holidays in France touring the more northerly parts and enjoying the food, scenery, architecture and of course gardens. However, we felt that to retire in France and enjoy a more clement climate than we currently had in Aberdeen we would need to find somewhere south of the river Loire but not too south to make returning to visit the UK onerous. The year 2000 saw us buying our house and setting it up to receive us and the family on holidays. The garden was more a field and we were helped by my son to remove the fencing that had separated the previous owners’ goats, sheep and chickens. We did inherit some lovely old trees and decided to plant more fruit trees that would survive and mature with the minimum of care until we took up permanent residence. The move took place in 2006 and the love hate relation with the “garden” started. There was so much to do in the house that there was little energy left for the hard tasks in the garden. It was very much a slow process and a steep learning curve. Expenditures have been kept to a minimum. The majority of the plants have been cuttings and I try to gather seeds wherever I can. The fruit trees have all been bought but we have tender hearts and cannot resist the little unloved shrub at a discount price and take it as a matter of honour to nurse it back to health. This year I have launched my Blog hoping to reach out to other gardeners in other countries. My aim is to make a garden for people to enjoy, providing shady and sunny spots with plants that enjoy living in this area with its limestone based subsoil and low rainfall in a warm summer. Exchanging ideas and exploring mutual problems will enrich my experience trying to form my French garden.

33 thoughts on “Of bees and blogs

  1. Well this played right to my own growing passion for bees. I am off to follow your new blog immediately. You might like to know that my shot of the Halictus bee has just been short listed in Interrnational Garden Photographer of the Year. So maybe there are others out there who share our passion. 😉

    Like

  2. Amelia, I’ll definately be “hovering” in the “wings” of that one…
    and I’ll bet that Susan “buzzes” by, too!!
    Love the rather squat Anthophora “plumpies” [slight anagram] arriving at the Cerinthe flower… and the close-up of the male in the wall…
    it is going to be a fun and educational blog to follow!!

    Like

  3. Those photos are perfect on a grey November night! Good luck with the new blog – hope you find lots of new contacts.

    Like

  4. You certainly have beautiful flowers in the garden! I like the bee blog idea. I think you’ll find, after a while, that people are using it as they would an insect guide to help identify their bees. They do that on my blog with plants even though I tell them to beware.

    Like

  5. Your bee blog is beautiful already. I hope we will still see some bees on this blog 🙂

    Like

  6. A lovely reminder of days filled with bees. I have begun following your new blog, you can never write too much about bees from my point of view 🙂

    Like

  7. I’ll follow both your blogs because I would want to miss out on hearing about your visitors, as my knowledge is very limited I may not leave comments every time as I do here!

    Like

  8. love the photos! Am now following the other blog too. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the follow. I take it that you are another softy for the bees :). As the posts continue please feel free to comment if you come across any information on solitary bees or any of your own observations.

      Like

  9. Good luck with you new blog, Amelia. I just struggle to find the time to write one – let alone my second. D

    Like

  10. Ooh I’d love to get the Bees of Surrey book. I’ll have to save up my pocket money! 😀 good luck with the new blog Amelia!

    Like

  11. Bees everywere, how lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

