My hazelnut trees are flowering!

Two flowers corylus avellana

Bright red against the blue sky!

Single flower

They are not like the flowers on apple or pear trees, in fact, the petals remind me more of sea anemones.

Front flower

I must admit, this is the first time I have seen the flowers of my hazelnuts.  Last year I saw the photographs of these intriguing flowers on one of my favourite blogs, New Hampshire Garden Solutions.  He sees everything!  I was determined I was not going to miss seeing mine this year.

Size comparison

I think you will forgive me for missing them when you see the size comparison with the male catkins.

corylus avellan flower and catkin

Once you have seen one they become obvious to spot but given that they are in flower now when it is cold and damp in the garden, I think that these unusual flowers will pass unadmired in many a garden.

corylus avellana flower

 

Seeing my hazelnut flowers for the first time lifted my spirits during a cool, dull, damp week while I nursed my cold.

 

38 thoughts on “My hazelnut trees are flowering!

  1. Yes, they are lovely. Some of mine are also opening, despite the low temperatures. They are so tiny but you have got some great close-ups of them. Hope your cold is getting better! 🙂

    Like

  2. Amelia, I have never seen a Hazel in flower, that looks exciting! I really like New Hampshire Garden Solutions blog too, he always inspires me to look more closely when I am out walking.

    Like

  3. Hope today’s rain didn’t get you down….
    curse that nold…
    sorry…
    takes another sip of medicinal whisky…
    nurse that cold!!

    Wonderful macros… they are lovely flowers, are they not!!
    Our male catkins haven’t started to lengthen yet…
    but they are Webbs / Cobnuts / Filberts and they are always later than the wild hazels…
    so the female flowers won’t have opened…
    they follow the catkins very closely.

    Another for you to look out for at this time of the year are the male and female flowers of the Larch… equally overlooked… but lovely early colour.

    Like

  4. I’m glad that you were able to find them. They really are beautiful little things and well worth searching for!
    I know how small they are and how hard they are to get a good photo of and your shots are excellent. I can’t wait to give it another try myself, but it will be a while yet here.
    Thank you for the blog mention. Take care of that cold!

    Like

  5. How pretty! I had no idea. The red color is so striking.The pattern on the bark is intriguing, too. There’s so much to see in nature if one is willing to look closely. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    Like

  6. Jenni

    ahhh! We netted our hazelnuts this year – we’ve not had a hazelnut in 20 years… Possums have been helping themselves to both male catkins and the female flowers it seems as we’ve seen neither. No I know what to look for! Thank you Amelia

    Like

      1. Jenni

        We will be looking for these flowers in July/August… Possums eat apricot flowers and apple flowers too – if only they realised what a treat they are missing. Lucky squirrels! Are squirrels protected?

        Like

  7. Pingback: The bees and Sweet Chestnuts | a french garden

Leave a comment